I AM a HUMAN BEING.

FREE to Speak Without Fear.

FREE to Worship God in my OWN Way.

FREE to Stand for what I think is Right.

FREE to Oppose what I Believe Wrong.

FREE to Choose Bodily Autonomy.

FREE to choose Humans of INtegrity and Honour to Responsibly Govern with Personal Accountability.

This Heritage I PLEDGE to UPHOLD for MY SELF and ALL HUMANKIND.

The original version of this quote was by former Prime Minister John G. Deifenbaker. He spoke these words in regards to enacting the Canadian Bill of Rights, 1960 c. 44.

In 1960 it read as such,

“I am a Canadian, a free Canadian, free to speak without fear, free to worship God in my own way, free to stand for what I think is right, free to oppose what I believe wrong, free to choose those who shall govern my country. This Heritage of freedom I pledge to uphold for myself and all mankind.”

Given the Global nature of the current Global fiasco, it felt appropriate to allow it’s intent to expand into an updated 2022 version.

For All who are unaware of John G. Diefenbaker…here is another one of my personal favourites. I heard it for the first time in 7th or 8th grade. It lit a fire in my Heart that has burned unwavering ever since.

“From my earliest days, I knew the meaning of discrimination. Many Canadians were virtually second-hand citizens because of their names and racial origin. Indeed, it seemed until the end of World War II that the only first-class Canadians were either of English or French descent. As a youth, l determined to devote myself to assuring that all Canadians, whatever their racial origin, were equal and declared myself lo be a sworn enemy of discrimination.”

(John Diefenbaker, Nowlan Lecture, 6)

Three Rhetorical Questions for personal reflection come to mind…

Would Mr. Diefenbaker congratulate us on a job well done as citizens of this country? As citizens of our Global Community…of Earth?

Would Mr. Diefenbaker feel compelled to personally Thank you, for the Integrity and Honourable Conduct you as a Human Being…As a Canadian..hold your self accountable for?

What does it mean to BE Sovereign and why is it a vital piece of knowledge?

Happy Pondering….